Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Patrick Watson In Concert

One of my favorite performers, Patrick Watson is dramatic but understated; deadly serious but unexpectedly candid and funny. And the music feels so warm, with melodies that haunt and enchant. The singer-pianist and his band put out a new record in 2012, Adventures in Your Own Backyard, and it's one of my favorites of the year.

In this Sept. 5 concert from the 9:30 Club in Washington, D.C., Patrick Watson — the name of both the bandleader and his band — came off as loose and particularly playful. Maybe it was because the tour was ending, maybe it was the choice of drink, or maybe it was a bit of both, but the group members seemed to surprise each other and push each other all night.

I love that sort of back-and-forth that happens on stage, where a phrase catches the ear of one musician and sparks a new idea in another. It's subtle but easy to see, especially in this video, where facial expressions are so evident. On this night at the 9:30 Club, I got a sense of what it might be like to hang out and listen to this great band of friends gathered around in someone's living room, playing extraordinary tunes and having a grand old time.

Set List

  • "Lighthouse"
  • "Blackwind"
  • "Step Out For A While"
  • "The Quiet Crowd"
  • "Words In The Fire"
  • "Into Giants"
  • "Strange Crooked Road"
  • "The Things You Do"
  • "Luscious Life"
  • "Big Bird In A Small Cage"
  • "Morning Sheets"
  • "Adventures In Your Own Backyard"
  • "Noisy Sunday"
  • "Beijing"
  • "Man Under The Sea"
  • Credits

    Producers: Mito Habe-Evans, Robin Hilton, Bob Boilen; Host: Bob Boilen; Audio engineer: Kevin Wait; Videographers: Denise DeBelius, Claire O'Neill, Zac Visco; Production assistant: Christopher Parks; Special thanks to the 9:30 Club; Executive Producers: Anya Grundmann, Keith Jenkins

    Copyright 2021 NPR. To see more, visit