© 2023 90.5 WESA
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
News about 90.5 WESA Sign up for our e-newsletter

Terry O'Reilly Named Chair, National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences

On July 19, 2018, The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) and its Board of Trustees announced  the election of a new Chairman and Officers to the organization.  Elected at the Spring Trustees Meeting in New York City on June 29, 2018, Terry O’Reilly, President, CEO, Pittsburgh Community Broadcasting, was named Chairman. 
"It is a terrific honor to take the lead at NATAS at this important time,” said O’Reilly. “As the challenge of change looms large for our industry, there has not been a more important moment for our Academy and for the Emmy® Award in recognizing and rewarding excellence in media. Today we are seeing the emergence of an entirely new generation of media makers - exceptionally talented individuals who seek to join their peers and predecessors in the art of compelling storytelling. It is the job of our Academy to identify and  help develop this next generation of superb storytellers, and in so doing ensuring that the Emmy Award continues to remain the ‘gold standard’ for our industry."

Also elected were the following individuals: 
Jason Anderson, 1st Vice Chair
David Burt, 2nd Vice Chair
Julie Lucas, Secretary 
Phillip Bell, Treasurer
All of these individuals assumed their roles for a two-year term as of July 1, 2018. Also extended was the role of Adam Sharp, formerly Head of News, Government and Elections for Twitter, as Interim-President and CEO of NATAS.

As a public media organization, WESA provides free and accessible news service to the public.

Please give now to continue providing fact-based journalism — a monthly gift of just $5 or $10 makes a big difference.