Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Arts, Sports & Culture

Steelers' Heyward Nominated For NFL Sportmanship Award

Keith Srakocic
Pittsburgh Steelers defensive end Cameron Heyward (97) runs during NFL football minicamp, Thursday, June 18, 2015. Heyward has been nominated for the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award.

NFL veterans Drew Brees, Joe Thomas, Von Miller and Luke Kuechly are among the 32 nominees announced Tuesday for the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award.

The award, now in its fourth year, honors the founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

One player from each team is nominated by current NFL players. A panel of former players selects eight finalists, four from each conference. That panel includes Hall of Famer Curtis Martin, Warrick Dunn, Karl Mecklenburg and Leonard Wheeler.

Those eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot when players vote on Dec. 15. As for the Pro Bowl, a team can't vote for its own player. 

Pittsburgh Steeler defensive end Cameron Heyward was among those nominated. 

The award will be presented on Feb. 3, the night before the Super Bowl, at NFL Honors, when The Associated Press hands out its individual league awards. The recipient will receive a $25,000 donation to the charity of his choice.

Past winners have been Larry Fitzgerald, Charles Woodson and Frank Gore.