Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

CMU Taps National Science Foundation For New President

Suresh_with flags_h1.jpg

Carnegie Mellon University has selected the Director of the National Science Foundation to be its next president.  Dr. Subra Suresh will take over the post July 1, 2013 after Dr. Jared L. Cohon ends his 16-year tenure.

"I am truly honored to have the opportunity to lead Carnegie Mellon University as its ninth president," said Suresh in a statement released by the university.  “I look forward to working with the CMU community to further our global impact."

Suresh is no stranger to the administration of an institute of higher education.  Before heading to the National Science Foundation Suresh served was the dean of the School of Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. 

The university said a 17-member committee representing all seven CMU colleges and schools conducted the search, which included “hundreds of candidates.”

CMU Board of Trustees Chairman Ray Lane had praise for the future president.

"Dr. Suresh possesses the strategic vision, international expertise and commitment to technology research and education that will continue to build CMU's reputation as a world leader in higher education,” said Lane.