© 2022 90.5 WESA
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Duquesne Names Law School Dean Kenneth Gormley As 13th President

Mike Richards
90.5 WESA

Duquesne University's current law school dean Kenneth Gormley will succeed Charles Dougherty as president.

Board of Directors Chair Marie Milie Jones announced the promotion Wednesday. Dougherty will retire June 30, 2016, after a 15-year tenure.

“It’s exciting for me to be the person who leads Duquesne into the next stage of its upward trajectory, taking us into a new era that reflects the energetic and ambitious vision of a university that has been an anchor of this region for over 130 years,” Gormley said.

Gormley will be Duquesne University’s 13th president in its 137-year history. He said he’d like to see the university receive more national and international recognition.

“We’re sometimes far too shy about bragging about the talent of our faculty and students," he said. "I hope to let the region and the world see what I’ve seen for the past 20-plus years.”

Gormley praised his new charges, dubbing Duquesne students among the most talented scholars, creative problem solvers and entrepreneurial students in the city. He said he’s looking forward to taking an active role on campus and interacting with students, faculty and staff.

He won’t be an unfamiliar face, he said.

Gormley came to Duquesne in 1994 after teaching at the University of Pittsburgh School of Law and was appointed Dean of Law in March of 2010, where he served as interim dean for 15 months.

According to a statement from Duquesne University, Gormley helped the law school improve its ranking on U.S. News and World Report’s list of top law schools by 25 spots over two years.

Gormley said the university greatly benefits from its 86,000 alumni, who are “the most loyal and dedicated individuals imaginable.”

“I can envision the day very soon actually where we will not only be one of the top universities in the region but also one of the leading catholic universities in the world."

Duquesne is a member of the Congregation of the Holy Ghost.